Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum

Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum (http://www.gasgasrider.org/forum/index.php)
-   Enduro Engine - 2 stroke (http://www.gasgasrider.org/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=37)
-   -   Trans oil info needed (http://www.gasgasrider.org/forum/showthread.php?t=9833)

Sixdays 06-05-2011 02:33 AM

Trans oil info needed

Hello
Well im new to the GG world. I just bought a 011 300 Sixdays.

I have read that the GG likes certian trans oils. I have NOT had clutch noise, clutch drag, or notchy shifting. So my question is what brand and wt oil does the GG come with from the factory?

Thanks Mike

thumperrider1 06-05-2011 06:08 AM

I'm not sure what comes from the factory or if they drain before shipping. My dealer had used some green oil in there so I think it was Motul. I run Shell Rotella T (non Synthetic). It's good oil and cheap enough where you can change it every couple hrs. Works great in my bike with the Rekluse Core EXP.

HuskyDude 06-05-2011 11:44 AM

Hi Mike, Welcome to GG Riders Club.

Boys you've got a loaded question there which has been discuss since this place started.:D Rule of thumb is Good quality, lower first number (like 0w40, 5w40 to prevent clutch drag) and change it lots.

If you use the search button up top and search just oil you'll be back reading a long time.

But for now here are a couple newer threads that will interest you.
Hope that helps ya out a bit.

Oh and Congrats on your new ride.http://www.cafehusky.com/smilies/thumbsup.gif

ec 300 transmission oil

Oil types/best?

Bailey28 06-05-2011 03:06 PM

I'm not saying it is best, but I run straight 30w SG SH motor oil in mine. The clutch wont' drag when first starting out and I don't get any squeal during the day, even in tight woods.

Spectrum 30w, yellow cap at Kmart. I change it every 3-4 rides.

Tlineman 06-05-2011 10:13 PM