Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum

Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum (http://www.gasgasrider.org/forum/index.php)
-   Australia & New Zealand (http://www.gasgasrider.org/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=28)
-   -   Considering the Kiwi Move (http://www.gasgasrider.org/forum/showthread.php?t=22858)

swazi_matt 08-07-2017 02:52 AM

Considering the Kiwi Move

So getting itchy feet and New Zealand keeps popping up on the radar, so trying to get some bike info.
i know there is a decent dirt biking community in NZ, but where are the best areas for riding (not necessarily racing, more in terms of freedom to ride and open riding areas).

I am a Civil Engineer and there is a demand, i also have 2 small boys in primary school so need to be near somewhere with decent schools etc

Lastly everything seems expencive in NZ so any info on importing bikes with me would be welcomed

(F5) 08-07-2017 03:31 AM

It not an enormous country so most areas are farmland or forestry land. Kinda need permission to ride there or people get upset.
Most of our riding these days is organised trail rides by clubs on a marked out track typically about 25-30km per loop with optional a loops, or longer rides with up to 80km loops.
Or enduros or MX.
I live in Wellington so most rides I do involve driving 1 to 1.5 hrs to get there. There isn't much riding in the middle of winter unless you want to drive further.
Auckland you will always have to drive, its a jungle of congestion.
Christchurch is nice but it gets another level of cold down there and even the North island will be a temperature shock.

But I love the riding and the area.

The road riding is neat too.

Yeah things aren't cheap. Can't have everything.

swazi_matt 08-07-2017 02:28 PM

Thanks. I know I will battle to find anywhere with the riding freedom we have here. But how did Chris Birch get so good?

(F5) 08-07-2017 08:34 PM

Trials riding.

gg3 08-07-2017 10:38 PM

Hi ,