Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum

Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum (http://www.gasgasrider.org/forum/index.php)
-   General Discussions & Announcements (http://www.gasgasrider.org/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=7)
-   -   Motor mods and "B" Frame weight...? (http://www.gasgasrider.org/forum/showthread.php?t=22166)

Ghostrider 12-06-2016 05:29 PM

Motor mods and "B" Frame weight...?

GGF,
Newbie here. Been on the prowl for a European off-road model for a few years.
I'm considering a 2011 EC300. I am basically going blind into being a gasgas owner but not too concerned.
Question 1:Do you notice the weight once your in motion? My RMZ450 is heavy but on the track I never really notice.
Question 2: who here has had motor work done?
It's a bad habit of mine but I do not own one stock motor.

Thanks, Ghost

(F5) 12-06-2016 06:07 PM

GG will definitely feel lighter as don't have all that high up engine weight what with the cams and valves and buckets and ports and other superfluous stuff missing.

They definitely respond well to a head skim and reshape along with a needle for sure. That should be sufficient to please but might not satisfy the spending bone. Try a gross of new Tyres. Ohh and Tubliss system. Chuck on rear and laugh.

Ghostrider 12-06-2016 06:28 PM

F5,
Sounds good! Yeah the spending...uhmmm got that from my mother's side😉

Thanks, Ghost

Zman 12-06-2016 07:00 PM

Welcome to the family! The weight is well balanced / distributed and I don't notice it once I am moving. For engine work on the 300 it depends what you want it to do. I have a well built stock bore 300 the rips and a big bore 327 that will lug like a 4 stroke and still makes great midrange and top end but does not rev quite as high as the stock bore. The big bore makes noticeably more power earlier in the power band. I personally have 5 GG bikes and all work great and are super reliable!

Ghostrider 12-06-2016 09:37 PM