Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum

Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum (http://www.gasgasrider.org/forum/index.php)
-   Injury & Recovery (http://www.gasgasrider.org/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=41)
-   -   knee brace for knee injury prevention (http://www.gasgasrider.org/forum/showthread.php?t=9071)

flybars 03-06-2011 11:50 AM

knee brace for knee injury prevention

I've read all the post's on knee braces and how they help the rider with injured knee's. I'm just curious if it would be smart for me to start wearing brace's to prevent a knee injury?
I have tweaked both knee's pretty good since I started riding offroad six years ago. And I think they are more prone now to injury. I'm 61 years old and really hope/plan to ride for many years to come.
I have read somewhere that it is possible to break your femur while wearing a knee brace.
I would really like to hear your thought's on this important subject. Thanks in advance.

GMP 03-06-2011 04:03 PM

I've popped my right knee four times, most before there was such a thing as an MRI or arthroscopic surgery. I don't even know if I have an ACL, never went for an MRI, but I suspect not. I just work it hard in the gym, take a lot of Glucosamine, and wear a CTi. Honestly, I think it helps some but will not prevent an injury in a big hit. I've had bruises on my leg from the forces being transferred, and at times felt it start to go if I caught my foot in a rut or on a rock, so it does work. I do think its an absolute psychological advantage. I won't ride or ski without it, I just don't feel right, and when you don't feel confident thats when bad things happen. Discipline yourself to ride with your toes inward, this will save a lot of pain.

Dr. Mark Sanders on ThumperTalk did a study on the knee brace and its effectiveness. Quite a thread if I remember.

Krieg 03-06-2011 05:49 PM

I wear my Asterisk braces religiously. As well as a Leatt neck brace. Wouldn't even think about riding without them.