Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum

Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum (http://www.gasgasrider.org/forum/index.php)
-   Enduro Chassis & Body (http://www.gasgasrider.org/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=20)
-   -   lower seat for shorter rider (http://www.gasgasrider.org/forum/showthread.php?t=23590)

Gas gas newby 05-24-2018 06:11 AM

lower seat for shorter rider

hey all, i am new to gas gas ,i just bought a 2006 ec 250, ive got to say i love this bike it feels so light and nibble , and the suspension is awesome , the only problem I have is I am quite short and would like to lower the bike about an inch but dont want to go down the road of altering steering and suspension geometry . My first thought was to shave some foam of the seat as i have done this before many times on other bikes , the problem is although it look like there is a good three inches of foam on the seat , because of the seat design there just isnt enough foam thickness to play around with.

Does anybody know of anywhere that makes a lower seat for the gas gas i can find them online for the newer models but not for the 2006 or will the later model seat still fit ? Any help would be greatly appreciated

Anders 05-24-2018 07:30 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gas gas newby (Post 183407)

Does anybody know of anywhere that makes a lower seat for the gas gas i can find them online for the newer models but not for the 2006 or will the later model seat still fit ? Any help would be greatly appreciated

Congratulations on your new ride, and welcome to this forum!
The newer seats does not fit. There was a change in the subframe design between the 06 and 07 models. You can change the subframe to the 07-11 model to fit that generation of seat. But that also implies a change of other things, like plastics and also the air filter box if I remember correctly. There used to be an "upgrade kit" with all the necessary parts, I used that kit on my 06.

(F5) 05-24-2018 01:58 PM