Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum

Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum (http://www.gasgasrider.org/forum/index.php)
-   Injury & Recovery (http://www.gasgasrider.org/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=41)
-   -   GoPro chest trauma? (http://www.gasgasrider.org/forum/showthread.php?t=12508)

swazi_matt 05-26-2012 12:16 AM

GoPro chest trauma?

I was just thinking about the safety of attaching a gopro to your body.
Perhaps someone with a doctor friend could ask them this question. If you have a gopro strapped to your chest and come off and land full impact flat on your chest on hardpack or rock what are the health risks? I am guessing it could be quite serious but I am not a doctor

twowheels 05-26-2012 01:27 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by swazi_matt (Post 87389)
I was just thinking about the safety of attaching a gopro to your body.
Perhaps someone with a doctor friend could ask them this question. If you have a gopro strapped to your chest and come off and land full impact flat on your chest on hardpack or rock what are the health risks? I am guessing it could be quite serious but I am not a doctor

Likely no worse than landing on the rock itself in the first place, but then you'd be out a camera too ;)

Around here lots of guys mount GoPros to the tops of their helmets - I'd be worried about catching a limb and torquing your neck. The slickest set-up I've seen is the Liquid Image goggle camera - true point-of-view filming and the most protected.

Jakobi 05-26-2012 01:59 AM

My mount is hard against the body armour and only held with 2 x velcro straps. In a big impact I imagine the camera would break. The chest plate should also spread the forces some before transferring to the body. I agree probably just like landing on a rock.

MrBlah 05-26-2012 06:51 AM

about 1/10th what it does when it catches a vine and tries to remove you from the bike