Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum  

Go Back   Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum > GasGas Enduro Technical Forums > Enduro Electrical & Wiring

Enduro Electrical & Wiring Lighting, Ignition, Wiring, Plugs, etc.

Old 02-24-2009, 05:46 PM

Default Kokusan Blues

I have some recent experiences that I hope help someone else. I had one of the devil bikes (2002 250xc) that I just couldn't jet. It started and ran fine right up to mid-range, then refused to take throttle, and wouldn't rev out. It turned out to be ignition problems. I put a timing light on it, and it had the wierdest advance curve you could imagine. Right above idle, it jumped to full advance, then about midrange, it went back to no advance. I always thought that a CDI either worked, or it didn't. I was wrong!

I used an inductive timing light. It uses a pickup that clamps over the plug wire, and any old 12v battery. I put the piston at TDC, and marked a line on the rotor, and a corresponding line on the engine case. Using a dial indicator, I also marked a line on the engine case representing 1mm BTDC.

I was fortunate to find an ignition on this site, in the For Sale forum. When it got here, I installled it and checked it's advance curve. I wouldn't call it a curve, exactly. Just above idle, it went from no advance to full advance. It stays at full advance until the engine returns to idle. Actually, my 250 runs great with this ignition. I wondered if this was normal. I have a friend with a 2006 300EC. I went over to his house, timing light in hand, and we checked his bike's "curve". My friend has never been able to get his bikes top end jetted correctly. It has never had that top end rip. Well, his ignition started at full advance, right at idle, and smoothly went back to no advance as the RPM increased. BAD IGNITION!