Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum  

Go Back   Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum > General Forums > Ride Reports

Ride Reports Tell us all the gorey details!

Old 03-05-2011, 10:28 AM

Default 2011 GasGas EC 300e

This is my first GG. I am coming off of KTM's and Husky's. My background is primarily from converted MX bikes. I race harescrambles and enduros but have MX years under my belt. I am 6'3" 210 and expert ability. I live in New England so most courses are tight and rooty with rocks.
The first ride was in snowy conditions that varied from frozen ground to 6inches of snow. Some tight stuff and open terrian. A few roots/rocks here and there but not a technical run at all.

I arrived at the house we were riding out of and put on my trelleborg tires and hand guards. Pulled the plug out of the left side of bar, and removed throttle tube to drill out end cap with a dremel cone bit. My hand guards were for protaper bars and these GG handbars seem to be smaller where the clamp grabs the bar, I got them tight enough to work but have since replaced the guards with clamps for Renthal bars. I noticed that the front master cylinder has a wire for a brake light coming out of it. I just zip tied it up and out of harms way. No sense in removing it. I did not like the allen bolt on the throttle housing. I will soon replace them with regular 8mm bolts like they should be. Also Im pretty sure the brake and clutch perches were allen bolts to. DUMB!! I will seek out normal bolts for these for ease of maintainance. I noticed this bike has a key ignition to it. Im not a fan of this and will be looking into removing it. I will have to find some type of switch for the headlight to shut it on/off when I do away with the key. I am also going to figure out how to replace the bulky electric start switch with two kill buttons. Already have two new yami kill buttons to use. Gonna use one for the e-start and one of the kill start.