Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum  

Go Back   Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum > General Forums > Ride Reports

Ride Reports Tell us all the gorey details!

Old 03-09-2011, 12:07 AM
Gold Level Site Supporter

Default First ride on my set up 2011 XC 300E

My write up is a little different than most as my first ride is not on a bone stock or nearly stock bike, but is set it up for me to suite me. The only other for sure additions will be better tires, heavy duty tubes, wheel locks, and a Shorai battery that I intend to add before the first race of the season early next month.

Many of you know I have been riding Gas Gas 300's for some time now, since 2004. During that time I have owned three different model years and now have my fourth, which is the standard model XC 300 E.
I am a A level rider nearly 42 years of age 6' tall and 200 lbs. I ride enduro to desert and everything in between.
Biggest accomplishments are an NMA open A. class enduro championship and a NMA Vet Off road championship while riding Gas Gas.

Over the years riding these bikes exclusively I have learned many little set up tricks that help make these bikes the perfect fit for me.

My XC 300E is equipped as follows:
Marzocchi /Ohlins
LTRacing suspension re valve with .44 springs in forks and set down in clamps with 2 mm showing on top and a 5.4 spring in back also LTR re valve

36mm Air striker 2 carb Slide #6.5 with notch.
Yamaha YZ 250 2 stroke factory carb needle N3EJ clip in center position #3
Pilot jet #40
Main #180
1 turn out on air screw

Scorpion Racing Skid plate
Scorpion Racing Radiator guards
IMS PRO Series foot pegs with rear offset standard height.
Enduro engineering rear disk Guard
Twin air filter cage
Cycra pro series hand guards with threaded bar inserts.
LTR case saver
BRP chain guide
Home made brake pedal snake
Hard parts front axle pull
Go fasters MX # plate mount system and Honda plate

Parts modded include:

Kick stand auto retract
Shortened clutch lever