Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum  

Go Back   Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum > GasGas Enduro Technical Forums > Enduro Intake/Carburetion - 2 stroke

Enduro Intake/Carburetion - 2 stroke Jetting, Reeds, Air Filters, etc.

Old 07-01-2012, 04:38 AM

Default How do you know you got your jetting right ?

I've just replaced my exp pipe because of a nasty crash crushing the old pipe
Now my bike seems faster and uses less fuel but the first part of the pipe have turned a gold color (heat ?)
I'm new to gas gas and im now questioning if my jetting was or is now right
how would i gauge that ? is there a right sound or ping ?
being new to gas gas i cant really tell if the power is right
any help would be nice six year off a 2t has made my a noob again

Old 07-01-2012, 04:47 AM
Super Moderator

Hot topic. How lean is too lean?? Poor power, high temps, easily boils over, white spark plug, not much piston wash. Pinging under load. IMO a well jetted exhaust note sounds crisp and clean. A lean one sounds too tinny but more so lacks power under load. A rich exhaust note sounds wet and dull.

The easiest way to tell is to richen it up and see if it makes more power. If it does then it was a bit lean. If it gets too rich and starts to break up then switch back.
Old 07-01-2012, 04:52 AM

its not over heating at all
sounds more crisp but band is weaker but that could be a pipe as its an
fmf gnarly
i was just worried as im getting 140 out of a tank when i only got 120 before
I just have nothing to gauge it off hence the question
Old 07-01-2012, 06:10 AM
Bronze Level Site Supporter

Jakobi is the man to talk too
2008 280 Raga replica
2012 Gas gas ec 300 E
Old 07-01-2012, 07:03 AM
Super Moderator