Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum  

Go Back   Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum > GasGas Enduro Technical Forums > Enduro Intake/Carburetion - 2 stroke

Enduro Intake/Carburetion - 2 stroke Jetting, Reeds, Air Filters, etc.

Old 01-05-2017, 06:46 PM

Default How much four-stroking is NORMAL?

I would like to state in advance that this post may contain profanity.

I'm new to two-strokes. And I probably should have bought a different bike to start with, but I have a 2003 ec300 (with plates). Maybe it's 2002.. I keep forgetting. Anyway, I've gone down to the smallest pilot jet (35), and I'm still four-stroking just off throttle while cruising. In fact the 35 doesn't seem much different than the 40. Is this normal?

Another thing is the air box. I don't really see anywhere where the freaking air is supposed to go in. Is it just supposed to get sucked through the cracks? There's something on the bottom that looks like it might be a port but it looks like it's just walled off. It seems to run better without the airbox side cover on the bike. Jetting is "stock?": N1EF/180/40/3rd clip/slide 7. Well, as of right now, the pilot jet is a 35, and I don't see much difference besides that it stalls out easier.

When I got the bike the top end was INSANE, but it pissed fuel on the sidestand, which I removed. What a freaking joke. Just like the rear brake lever, the switchgear, the stupid drywall screws in the fuel tank, the dog shit chain guides, the chain adjusters from 1911, the stupid exposed rear brake master cylinder, oh yeah, and all the pressed on nuts on the frame that fell off the first time I rode it. Ok I'll stop. Anyway, I adjusted the float and never seemed to get that same top end back, although today, in the dead of winter, WOT seemed ACCEPTABLE, whereas in the summer it was always choking at WOT. I now know that it was (probably) rich.