Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum  

Go Back   Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum > GasGas Enduro Technical Forums > Enduro Electrical & Wiring

Enduro Electrical & Wiring Lighting, Ignition, Wiring, Plugs, etc.

Old 03-03-2015, 10:57 PM
Gold Level Site Supporter

Default EC300 trail lighting and other electrical fun.

Sometimes I find myself still on the bike when it is dark out. On days of particularly bad judgement, i'm just getting started in the dark. Unfortunately, there isn't a dirt bike out there that comes from the factory with a decent headlight for the trail.

Initially I found bike electrical systems to be fairly intimidating and avoided messing with them as much as possible. Okay, fair enough, that is still true but I have gotten a lot more comfortable. That and riding trail in the dark with a weak stock headlight is a powerful motivator

My adventures in electrons with concern to Gas Gas are pretty much all documented in this thread.

I was able to go from the stock nightlight:

To something that was actually usable:

Truth be told I've only ever used this setup once (shown in the last picture) on the trail. It's a good enough system as is to get you out of the woods if you end up out longer than planned but could use some improvement for serious trail riding.

The plan is to try and take the path of least resistance to get a 2012 EC300 to trail worthy night status. Firstoffs I was curious how much juice I had to work with. If I could have my way I wanted to use the cyclops regulator/rectifier that plugs straight into the stock headlight harness. It seems like the LED lights don't really give a shit about voltage variation and don't need a capacitor or battery to operate smoothly.

http://www.cyclopsadventuresports.co...dule_p_85.html

I only have the high beam input and output hooked up so I was mainly interested in the DC output from the reg/rec unit on this circuit.

With the bike running on the stand I measured:
Idle: 3.8ADC and 14.2VDC