Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum  

Go Back   Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum > GasGas Enduro Technical Forums > Enduro Engine - 2 stroke

Enduro Engine - 2 stroke Cylinder, Piston, Tranny, Bearings, Clutch, Pipes & Silencers, etc.

Old 11-07-2014, 01:18 PM

Default is it ok?

Hello doing another job on the bike I thought id have a peep in the exhaust port and look at what I could of the piston cylinder. Now im still new to offroaders so dont really kkow what im looking for. A compression test says 185psi which I think is ok
So any observations on the following pics

Side of piston

What im really after is there anything that makes u think omg change that piston straight away! I dont know excatly how long this piston has been in so I imagine the reaponse will be just change it anyway but id rather not uat yet id if I dont have to!

Old 11-07-2014, 01:20 PM

Old 11-07-2014, 02:14 PM
Super Moderator

Things that make you go AHH, are gouges scraping and scoring. Damage to the ring area. If you see large volumes of blow by (staining from combustion below the rings) its a sign you might need a top end.

From what I see you have little blow by and still evidence of some coating on the piston. Good compression too. I'd ride some more.
Old 11-07-2014, 02:27 PM
Silver Level Site Supporter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jakobi View Post
Things that make you go AHH, are gouges scraping and scoring. Damage to the ring area. If you see large volumes of blow by (staining from combustion below the rings) its a sign you might need a top end.

From what I see you have little blow by and still evidence of some coating on the piston. Good compression too. I'd ride some more.
I agree.
Old 11-07-2014, 03:46 PM