Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum  

Go Back   Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum > General Forums > General Discussions & Announcements

General Discussions & Announcements General Announcements, General Questions, e.g. What bike do I buy?, etc.

Old 01-31-2010, 06:37 PM

Default 200EC - Adult Beginner Bike?

Hi!

I'm new to the board and looking for some advice.

I've been riding street bikes (V-Strom 650) for a couple of years and am looking to buy a bike for trails and off-road, no MX, but light jumping, etc.

I'm 48, 6', 240#.

I've been looking at the KDX220r and the KTM250EXC. I've recently come across a 2004 EC200 in my area for less than $2000.

I'm wondering if it will be enough power to move me around?

Any feedback or recommendations would be appreciated.

Thanks - Kevin

Old 01-31-2010, 07:38 PM
Gold Level Site Supporter

All of those are good bikes. The KTM 520 is hardly a beginner bike! That might scare you off of riding in the dirt.

The KDX is a true beginner bike, and reliable as a stone tool. I love them, but at 240# you would find yourself taxing the suspension even in the parking lot. Certainly any kind of jumping is out of the question.

The EC 200 for less than $2000 is a good deal as long as it's not totally trashed. It shouldn't be, it seems that the value just drops to $2000 after a while no matter what it is. Strange but true.