Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum  

Go Back   Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum > GasGas Enduro Technical Forums > Enduro Engine - 2 stroke

Enduro Engine - 2 stroke Cylinder, Piston, Tranny, Bearings, Clutch, Pipes & Silencers, etc.

Old 08-03-2011, 03:51 PM

Unhappy 2004 Gas Gas 250 MC Cutting out.

Hey guys, new to the forum here, been browsing around a bit and haven't really found an answer to my specific issue.

I'm new to Gas Gas's, and i'm a bit rusty when it comes to 2-strokes in general, my last 2-Stroke was an 88' Honda CR250r, which I purchased in 95'.

Just bought this Gas Gas a week or so ago, and hadn't really had any problems with it at all until my last ride.

It seems to be a carb problem, but at this point i'm still unsure.

The motor has been completely gone thru and redone, which is evident by the new gaskets throughout the motor.

My problem is, it's cutting out/sputtering on me in the mid/upper revs, my first thought was bad gas, so I drained the old fuel, mixed a new batch, and the problem remains. Checked the plug, looks great, cleaned the air filter, had the pipe off to have a peek at the exhaust side of the piston, everything looks excellent in there. Pulled the tank to check for any contaminants, everything looks great there, fuel flows freely from the petcock.

The bike still idles/revs fine when there isn't a load on the motor.

My first couple rides on the bike went great, plenty of power, no cutting out anywhere in the rev band.

And suddenly it's sputtering on me in the mid-high revs and i'm kinda stumped as to why.

Any ideas would be much appreciated.

My next idea is to pull the carb off and have a look at it, but it's been so long since i've worked on a 2-stroke, and these gas gas's are completely new to me.

But I thought i'd ask around here first to see if there's anything I may have over looked.

Thanks in advance guys, and I look forward to getting to know you guys, and these Gas Gas's.

Sincerely,

Anthony