GasGas Riders Club Forum  

Go Back   GasGas Riders Club Forum > General Forums > Suggestion Box

Suggestion Box Help us make this place the best it can be!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-26-2008, 09:07 PM
dhally's Avatar
dhally dhally is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kennewick, WA
Posts: 36
Default Trouble viewing this website with Vista and IE7

I've tried changing all the settings and can't seem to use this forum. My daughter's computer which has XP and IE6 seems to work.

Any suggestions or known fixes? an email would be nice since I can't see the forum!!

dnlh@clearwire.net

Thanks


__________________
_________
2005 EC300 - for sale
Suzuki DL650
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 05-26-2008, 10:06 PM
RBD RBD is offline
Site Sponsor
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 91
Default

I would be very interested in the fix too...., I do use XP and IE6 and have the same problems?

Ron
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-27-2008, 07:56 AM
barkeater's Avatar
barkeater barkeater is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Moorhead, MN
Posts: 235
Default

Use an Apple computer and Firefox?

Funny, 10 years ago I was the one who couldn't use the internet on my Mac... now it's the other way around.

Sorry, that wasn't constructive. Just think it's weird that the newest of MS products won't work on a site this simple.
__________________
Todd A
-------
2003 EC/O 200
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-27-2008, 09:44 AM
eff's Avatar
eff eff is offline
Silver Level Site Supporter
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: RI
Posts: 1,757
Default

Define what trouble you are having.

Or, install Firefox, http://www.mozilla.com/en-US/firefox/.
__________________
2004 GasGas DE250
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-27-2008, 10:16 AM
webmaster's Avatar
webmaster webmaster is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Portland, Oregon, U.S.A.
Posts: 1,737
Default

My daughter has vista on her laptop - I'll check it out this evening...

BTW, I also recommend using firefox - just one little vote against the microsoft monopoly.

www.getfirefox.com


jeff
webmaster
GasGas Riders Club
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-27-2008, 02:57 PM
dhally's Avatar
dhally dhally is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kennewick, WA
Posts: 36
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eff View Post
Define what trouble you are having.

Or, install Firefox, http://www.mozilla.com/en-US/firefox/.

------thread hijack on----------
I thought about getting an apple but I wanted cheap. Its a used fairly new computer and came with Vista and I'm too cheap to "upgrade" to XP. Heck, I could almost buy a set of knobbies for the price of XP!

Does Firefox work with Vista?
Does Firefox have problems accessing some websites and features?
This website is the only one I have a problem with IE7 (so far)
---------thread hijack off------

It takes a very long time to load the web page. Or many times it takes a long time, then I get the message:

Internet Explorer cannot open the web page


when I click on "diagnose problem" I get a message that says the web site is programmed wrong, claims that Windows Firewall is not the culprit, and suggests that I instruct my firewall to allow access through TCP port 80. However I have tried it with Windows Firewall and McAfee internet security OFF and get the same results. I have also set all the security setting in IE7 to the lowest setting -- doesn't seem to help.

I am also looking into the firewall on my router but since my other computer seems to work OK it doesn't seem likely to be the router..

The problem does seem worse in the evening.
__________________
_________
2005 EC300 - for sale
Suzuki DL650
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-27-2008, 03:07 PM
Dave Dave is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: StL, MO
Posts: 392
Default

I'm using Vista and IE7 without difficulty.
Have you used Microsoft's update feature to make sure both are at current revision levels?
__________________
'15 YAMAHA WR250F, '75 YAMAHA TY80 Gone: '00 380 EXC, '03 EC300, '07 YZ250, '07 250 XC-W, '08 YZ450F, '12 CRF250R
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-27-2008, 07:14 PM
skid jackson skid jackson is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NH, USA
Posts: 1,057
Default

I'm using vista .. not sure what ie # ... guess its 7 ...
The site gets a little slow and hangs up every now and then. I've gotten that can not access website window more than a few times.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-27-2008, 08:28 PM
Skidad's Avatar
Skidad Skidad is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Littleton Massachusetts
Posts: 1,209
Default

At home using XP Pro, IE6, and....um.....borrowing...an unsecured wireless connection and no problems at all with the GG site. Loads fast and no problems navigating around. Pictures come up fast as well

At work, again XP Pro and IE6 and behind all sorts of secure firewalls and various forms of protection I have fits. Site loads slow or not at all, pages the same way, have to click stop, then back and then retry to load a page again sometimes 2,3,4 times and then it loads finally. I've actually found some weird patterns that make it work better. If I open IE in the morning at work the Gas Gas site can't be the first site I try or it won't load or takes forever. Other sites have to be opened first then I can open it. Really strange. Then you get the message page can't be displayed so you hit the refresh button and it comes right up. Sometimes I just let it clock and walk away to actually do some work. No problems with other sites like this one. It's just the GG site.


Skidad in MA
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-28-2008, 05:26 AM
Bearman's Avatar
Bearman Bearman is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 199
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dhally View Post
It takes a very long time to load the web page. Or many times it takes a long time, then I get the message:

Internet Explorer cannot open the web page
This occasionally happens to me. when it does happen, i hit refresh. 90% of the time, this works. If it doesnt i go check out all the other forums im on, then i come back here and it works.

I have XP professional, and IE7.
__________________
Ben

'03 GasGas EC200 My bike
'89 Yamaha TT250 R.I.P - Lost in the Black Saturday Fires
Reply With Quote
Reply



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2005 EC 250/300 Kicker trouble FFRDave Enduro Engine - 2 stroke 32 03-16-2012 01:31 PM
Clutch Trouble sammyj18 Enduro Engine - 2 stroke 10 07-24-2009 10:39 PM
people viewing UK forum stay_upright Suggestion Box 1 05-20-2008 06:54 PM
Is it just me? Rimlocks - any trouble? 3hunerd Enduro Chassis & Body 13 04-18-2008 07:14 PM
Is Gas Gas in trouble in the U.S. GregM General Discussions & Announcements 14 12-29-2006 08:55 AM




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2009 - GasGasRider.org