Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum  

Go Back   Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum > GasGas Enduro Technical Forums > Enduro Suspension

Enduro Suspension Tuning & maintenance of Enduro forks, shocks, etc

Old 08-16-2010, 08:28 PM

Default spring affects on turning.....

would having two different springs in my forks have adverse affects on function and turning? it seems i have a much heavier spring in on fork than the other, and i dont notice it while going slow, but when going faster (fourth-fifth gear on fire road) it seems like the bike is unwilling to turn, and has put me in the ditch on multiple occasions (nothing broken or injured except my ego for the guys behind me..) the bike is set up for 180lbs aggressive rider, whereas im a 165 novice trail rider, so i dont know if that has anything to do with it, but it just doesnt feel right sometimes, like it doesnt want to turn for me.

Old 08-16-2010, 09:45 PM
Silver Level Site Supporter

Quote:
Originally Posted by dank View Post
would having two different springs in my forks have adverse affects on function and turning? it seems i have a much heavier spring in on fork than the other, and i dont notice it while going slow, but when going faster (fourth-fifth gear on fire road) it seems like the bike is unwilling to turn, and has put me in the ditch on multiple occasions (nothing broken or injured except my ego for the guys behind me..) the bike is set up for 180lbs aggressive rider, whereas im a 165 novice trail rider, so i dont know if that has anything to do with it, but it just doesnt feel right sometimes, like it doesnt want to turn for me.
You would think it so, however, KYB's new S.F.F.(fork) only has one large spring in one fork leg.
Cannondale's "Lefty"only has one fork leg all together and some forks have rebound in one leg and compression in the other.
So, with out knowing more it's hard to say in your situation.