Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum  

Go Back   Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum > General Forums > General Discussions & Announcements

General Discussions & Announcements General Announcements, General Questions, e.g. What bike do I buy?, etc.

Old 10-03-2012, 01:37 PM

Default Using the rear brake

I am having trouble with my rear brake, it works fine, but more specifically it?s the ergonomics of the stock rear brake lever. The lever just seems too far away from the tip of my boot (size 11). So I am looking to start a discussion on the rear brake and braking in general. I am new to the 2 stroke, and have way more hours on the 450 four strokes with their prolific engine braking, so I am having to use my rear brake more, and it just seems so awkward. So here are my questions:

- Do you have to move your foot to activate your rear brake. If no is that sitting or standing.
- Have you adjusted the levers location up or down. Is it optimum for standing or sitting.
- On the trail, how do you modulate your speed, especially going downhill. Seems like I am just using my brakes a lot.
- What is the ideal location for your lever. I.e. what?s your setup.

Thanks for all of your input
Bike is 2009 ec300

Last edited by IDAHOSPUD; 10-03-2012 at 02:45 PM.

Old 10-03-2012, 01:56 PM

I can not help much. I run a left hand rear brake and could never go bake to a brake pedal.
Old 10-03-2012, 02:20 PM

I have to move my foot forward to hit the rear brake. Thats the way I want it. If my foot was able to rest on the brake, it would be overheating.
Old 10-03-2012, 02:24 PM