Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum  

Go Back   Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum > General Forums > General Discussions & Announcements

General Discussions & Announcements General Announcements, General Questions, e.g. What bike do I buy?, etc.

Old 05-13-2023, 07:19 AM

Default A little help please for someone new to gasgas trials bikes

I would like to ask for some advice. I'm new to owning a trials bike so bare that in mind please when answering as all I'm asking is for advice not a grilling from you know the type of riders who think there better than everyone else.

I have just purchased a 1993 gasgas jt125 in reasonable condition. I replaced the reeds in the valve with new ones, bike has spark (new plug etc) but will only start if I put a drop of fuel in the cylinder. It will then run but stalls as seams to be fuel or air starved.

Ive been told to clean the carb which I will do. Is there anything else I should also be looking at?

Old 05-13-2023, 07:34 AM

Check to make sure fuel is making it to the carb from the tank. If it is then, yes, it's the carb. If not, the petcock and/or fuel line is plugged.

More than likely it's the carb. I strongly recommend to just replace the pilot jet in the carb with a new one. Trying to clean out the old one can be a futile exercise a lot of times.
'11 EC250R
'98 KDX220
Old 05-13-2023, 03:22 PM
Gold Level Site Supporter

When I first got my 200, which is based on the 125 it had a delorto carb that was inconveniently placed. On hands and knees you need to poke the choke lever so it stands up vertical. Otherwise it won't start. I felt a bit stupid not being able to start my new to me bike.

I drilled the end of the lever when it was out so I could tied a cord to it to release it.

The other trick it used to play was the metal float valve would get stuck in closed position. Guess what? No fuel in bowl to start the bike. Swine! Everyone else uses viton tipped valves but not delorto.