Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum  

Go Back   Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum > GasGas Enduro Technical Forums > Enduro Chassis & Body

Enduro Chassis & Body Enduro Frame, Plastic, Brakes, Bars, Controls, wheels, tires, sprockets & gearing.

Old 03-06-2007, 06:19 PM

Default Heavy Duty vs. Ultra Heavy Duty Tubes

Any opinions out there? Looking to save $$...are the Ultra Heavy Duty really necessary? I ride a fair amount of rocky terrain.

Old 03-06-2007, 07:13 PM

I've been using the Michelin Airstop HD tubes for a couple of years and have no complaints. From left to right: OEM, Michelin, Moose Supertube, Bridgestone UD.

Old 03-06-2007, 08:14 PM
Gold Level Site Supporter

I usually run the MSR ultra heavy duty tubes. I would not try and save money on inner tubes. Unless of course you enjoy changing tires in the field or have time to kill in a race, cause your that fast!
The toughest and thickest inner tube I have ever seen and used are the Fly racing heavy duty tubes.
They do make mounting the tire tough, as they are crazy thick and not very pliable when new. They also do weigh a bit more than your typical ultra heavy duty tube. Price may be also slightly more. But if they put tread on them you probably wouldn't even need a tire.
Old 03-06-2007, 10:28 PM

I'm a big fan of b stone ultra hd tubes. I ran them in my drz and never got a flat. I ride rocky rooty nasty new england terrain that loves to pinch flat tubes. My drz weighed close to 500 lbs with my and all my gear on it. I usually ran 10 to 12 psi. I ran one tube on the back for three years!! bstone uhd all the way!! Some guys don't like the weight of the UHD's tho.
Old 03-07-2007, 05:49 AM

Mousses anyone?

I much prefer them they just give you that ultimate peace of mind and you can stop worrying.