Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum  

Go Back   Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum > GasGas Enduro Technical Forums > Enduro Engine - 2 stroke

Enduro Engine - 2 stroke Cylinder, Piston, Tranny, Bearings, Clutch, Pipes & Silencers, etc.

Old 10-28-2006, 11:19 PM

Default Can't find my power band MC250. is it in there

Hey folks
I just picked up an 05 MC250 and I can't seem to find my power band. Do other motocross 250's come with a powerband? My other bike is a 95 honda CR500, which I just had ported for smoother low end and more top end and went with a bigger better carb that adds HP and smooths low end power delivery. The power band is easy to find

I didn't ride much for a long period of time. I started riding again in 2002 when I was 37. The last time I rode a motocross 250 was in 84 and it was a 82 RM250 and it had a very nice power band. I remember cranking the throttle in 3rd gear and the front wheel came up and stayed up until I reached for fourth and catching fourth before the wheel hit the ground, all while going across this an open field and crossing a ditch in the middle of it while on one wheel.

I just got my MC250 and took it for a spin around my house. I didn't quite realize what a bear that 500 must be for some people-my previous bike had been a YZ490, which was big and heavy, and the CR still feels a little small and easy to turn. The MC was so nimble and easy to ride. I haven't yet broken it in, so I haven't wound it out yet. I revved it up to the midrange area a couple of times and sort of expected the beginning of a pretty strong hit, and nothing happened. I just felt like an average person on a four stroke. It was terrible!