Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum  

Go Back   Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum > GasGas Enduro Technical Forums > Enduro Engine - 2 stroke

Enduro Engine - 2 stroke Cylinder, Piston, Tranny, Bearings, Clutch, Pipes & Silencers, etc.

Old 11-30-2009, 10:16 AM

Default gasgas 250ec flywheel weights

Please help if you can, I'm new to gasgas and recently purchased a 2003 ec250 to ride in hare scrambles, however the bike hits like a motocrosser and is hard to ride in woods. I'm thinking of adding flywheel weights but i,mtold the ec already has weights . Steahly lists weights for mc bikes but not for ec however they say if ignition wires are at 10 o'clock position it is a light flywheel and if wires are at 1'oclock it is a heavy flywheel. Mine are at 10 o'clock position. Needto know if i can add weights or different flywheel and where i can purchase also pulled ignition cover and cannot see any weights. Thanks

Old 11-30-2009, 10:18 AM
Silver Level Site Supporter

Yes you have the 2k-2 ignition and you can use the FWW.
Old 11-30-2009, 02:44 PM

thanks for responding eff, I know this is dumb but how do I get the flywheel off and can you tell me anything by looking at the pictures? Where would the flywheel weights be?

Old 11-30-2009, 02:51 PM
Silver Level Site Supporter

You already have a flywheel weight on your bike. I'm not sure what weight that is though.

The flywheel is the brass part behind the darker weight. The weight is actually substituted for the flywheel nut.

Two methods to remove. Either block the engine from turning or use a pnuematic impact driver to loosen.
Old 11-30-2009, 03:47 PM
Site Sponsor

looks to me like your timing is too far advanced, that would explain the big hit.........

see this post for setting timing on 2k-2 (with pics!)

http://www.gasgasrider.org/forum/showthread.php?t=5124
Old 11-30-2009, 04:03 PM