Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum  

Go Back   Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum > GasGas Enduro Technical Forums > Enduro Intake/Carburetion - 2 stroke

Enduro Intake/Carburetion - 2 stroke Jetting, Reeds, Air Filters, etc.

Old 07-07-2012, 04:58 PM

Default ec 300 setting correct pilot jetting, idle low end

06 EC 300, rides well, idle a bit iffy. Set up on idle adjuster to sensible tickover then 30secs later drops down to really low idle and usually stops. To make it useable have idle set quite high so it races a bit when shutting off initially then settles down. Also lacks a bit of crisp response when opened up from low revs. Read up on here and seems like I should alter jetting and needle. Currently #7 slide, N1EF needle, 180 main, 40 pilot.
Ordered CCK needle, 38 & 42 pilots to try and 178 main.
I'm no expert, never bothered messing with jetting on any previous bikes. Doing more trail riding these days so noticing lower end and idle issue more. Any advice from anyone appreciated. Especially theory of pilot, is this whats causing idle to be slow dropping down? Rich or lean? Have checked for air leaks and ok.
Away working now but hope to get some advice so I can get into it when i get home in a week or so.
cheers Simon

Old 07-07-2012, 10:40 PM
Banned

Had the same problem with mine, setting the float level cleaned up a lot of the idle problems that I had similar to yours. Once I set the float hieght the Carb was more responsive to changes in the air/fuel screw

40 pilot
CEK middle clip
175 main.
Air screw 1.5 out
Old 07-08-2012, 12:01 AM
Super Moderator

Few things needed to get the idle circuit correct.
1. Correct float level (slightly lower than stock)
2. Manually set the idle screw into position so that the slide is only just a few mm open. You can either do this visually through the carb throat, or audibly by listening for when the slide bottoms out and then turning the idle screw in until the sound just changes.