Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum  

Go Back   Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum > General Forums > Injury & Recovery

Injury & Recovery Injuries, Health Issues, Vision & Body Repair

Old 05-26-2012, 12:16 AM

Location: From Swaziland, Now Hamilton New Zealand the “look but don’t touch” enduro heaven
Default GoPro chest trauma?

I was just thinking about the safety of attaching a gopro to your body.
Perhaps someone with a doctor friend could ask them this question. If you have a gopro strapped to your chest and come off and land full impact flat on your chest on hardpack or rock what are the health risks? I am guessing it could be quite serious but I am not a doctor

Old 05-26-2012, 01:27 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by swazi_matt View Post
I was just thinking about the safety of attaching a gopro to your body.
Perhaps someone with a doctor friend could ask them this question. If you have a gopro strapped to your chest and come off and land full impact flat on your chest on hardpack or rock what are the health risks? I am guessing it could be quite serious but I am not a doctor
Likely no worse than landing on the rock itself in the first place, but then you'd be out a camera too

Around here lots of guys mount GoPros to the tops of their helmets - I'd be worried about catching a limb and torquing your neck. The slickest set-up I've seen is the Liquid Image goggle camera - true point-of-view filming and the most protected.
Steven Beane #275
PlusOnePerformance - Superior Service the World Over - Dearborn MI
AMA District 14 (Michigan) Officer

afterhourscycle.com
Michigan's Beta and TM Race Headquarters
Old 05-26-2012, 01:59 AM
Super Moderator

My mount is hard against the body armour and only held with 2 x velcro straps. In a big impact I imagine the camera would break. The chest plate should also spread the forces some before transferring to the body. I agree probably just like landing on a rock.
Old 05-26-2012, 06:51 AM