Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum  

Go Back   Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum > GasGas Enduro Technical Forums > Enduro Intake/Carburetion - 2 stroke

Enduro Intake/Carburetion - 2 stroke Jetting, Reeds, Air Filters, etc.

Old 05-26-2008, 05:33 AM

Default 'Hunting' when hot

Hi

I have just bought a 2001 TXT249. After about 15 or 20 mins of puttering around and the bike is nice an warm, the revs seem to climb and fall, almost as though you are giving it little one second bursts of an eighth of a turn on the throttle. It gets so bad that the bike actually cuts out in the 'dips', and if you give it some throttle as the revs fall, the revs pick up pretty slowly. I am running 100ml oil to 5l petrol - Is this correct? (50:1)? I am not sure if this is related, but even when the bike is hot, I still need to use the choke to get it started. I am new to two strokes, but as I type this I think perhaps I should have replaced the plug as a starting measure, but think possibly it is an air screw setting or something else in the carb - but as I said I am a novice so any (simple)advise would be appreciated.

Old 05-26-2008, 10:17 AM
Gold Level Site Supporter

Sounds as if it may be a piece of dirt or crud in your carb. Drain your float bowl first see if that helps.
If not pull the carb and clean all the jetting circuits out with a shot of compressed air or a stream of carb cleaner.

Good luck,
Roscoe

Huge thanks: GAS GAS OFFROAD US, Skagit Powersports, Cycle Gear, LTRacing, Scorpion Racing, users of GasGasrider.org, and CFMC!
Old 05-26-2008, 03:22 PM
Site Sponsor

Richard,

Look for an air leak around the carb to engine and reeds, also check around the base gasket area.

Ron
Old 05-26-2008, 08:53 PM

First that's a lot of oil to be running in a trials bike. Most people run synthetic oil at 80 to1 or 100 to 1 in trials motors.