Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum  

Go Back   Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum > GasGas Enduro Technical Forums > Enduro Engine - 2 stroke

Enduro Engine - 2 stroke Cylinder, Piston, Tranny, Bearings, Clutch, Pipes & Silencers, etc.

Old 09-14-2008, 10:40 AM

Default Smoked Clutch??

I bought an '01 EC200 a few months ago that needed a little TLC. It runs great and seems to be very strong. I've had it out a few times just chasing the kids around and such. The last time out I was running it pretty hard (for me) and I pretty much lost all action in the clutch. Meaning, the only clutch action I was getting was /is in the last 25% of the lever throw. I brought it home and let it cool and tried bleeding the clutch. Didn't seem to help. I have no idea what tranny oil is in it. Figured I'd just tear it apart and check things out with the plates and such.
Anyone got any tips or links on what I should be looking for? If you haven't figured it out yet...I'm very new at this but I enjoy doin my own wrenching so any help will be very much appreciated.

Old 09-14-2008, 12:51 PM

Sounds like you might have some clutch drag. Try using a 0W-40 oil and see if it helps at all.
Lifes journey is not to arrive safely at the grave in a well preserved body, But rather to skid in sideways totally worn out shouting holy cow what a ride !!!!
Old 09-14-2008, 01:02 PM

Look closely at the master cylinder and lever. When you pull the lever does it almost instantly start pushing the mc piston? Is there too much clearance between the lever and mc piston? Is the adjuster screw missing from the lever? There is also a push-pin between the adjuster screw and mc piston, the dust-boot holds it in place. Is it installed? If the adjuster comes loose that pin can fall out.
Old 09-14-2008, 02:30 PM

Gonna try the 0w-40 first and see if it helps.