Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum  

Go Back   Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum > GasGas Enduro Technical Forums > Enduro Suspension

Enduro Suspension Tuning & maintenance of Enduro forks, shocks, etc

Old 10-23-2011, 09:27 AM

Default Cartridge inside of fork

Ok, total noobie question on the cartridge. I have the fork cap and spring out on one end. I have the base valve out of the other end.

Does the cartridge unscrew from inside the outer leg or should the cartridge and damping rod just fall out? Is this what Steve B. was talking about when he said 'special tool' ?

The cartridge is very tight inside, nothing but the damper rod is moving back and forth.

I am changing the fork oil, and attemtping to tune the base valve stack some. I wanted to get the rest of it apart to tune the mid valve using some previous suggestions as well.

*****************NEVER MIND, I GOT IT OUT, JUST A LIGHT TAP...*************

Now to figure out how to get the stopper out of place with the peening... damn...

Last edited by Bailey28; 10-23-2011 at 10:16 AM.

Old 10-23-2011, 05:46 PM
Site Sponsor

On shows suspension you drill the peens on the lower guide bushing/ seal head and then unscrew it apart.
I will be tearing into my sachs very soon to do mv work as well.

Try posting pics as you go along. I will do the same.

Rob
Ride with confidence again!

Made in the USA
Old 10-23-2011, 06:05 PM

Damn, I didn't get it apart. I wasn't sure if the rod separates where the rod stopper it at. It had this funny ring with four small square notches cut out. I could almost grab it with a special pliers for transmission rings, but it kept slipping out.

I didn't want to ruin anything. All I did today was change the oil and fool with the base valve.