Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum  

Go Back   Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum > General Forums > Riding Techniques & Training

Riding Techniques & Training Increase Riding Skill, Physical and Mental Training, Weight Loss.

Old 01-11-2009, 01:03 AM
Silver Level Site Supporter

Default Full throttle?

How often would you say that you're 3/4 or more on the throttle? How much do you open the throttle, say, when you exit a flat corner or you need to rise the front wheel in front of a log?

I know it depends on the engine, the gearing, the obstace, etc, but I think I might be somewhat scared to "twist it". I recently started riding EC300, stock gearing, and I seldomly reach 3/4 of the throttle. At least I think so. The tacho almost never reaches 7 or 8 th. rpms. Next step I plan to do is take a white marker and put some marking on the grip so that hopefully I would be able to notice how much I'm using.

I read Gary Semics advice that one should really over grip the throttle handle. Is that too motocross style?

Old 01-11-2009, 05:32 AM

It really depends on the rider and how confident they are plus what kind of trail you are riding. I try to to stay on the pipe while riding. I also run a 13-50sprocket set up.

Ride in your comfort zone! As you build your confidence you will notice yourself going faster. One of my things that I truly have faith in is to ride with people that are faster than you. You will pick up on what they are doing and in time you will become faster. I'm not saying to not ride with slow people at all! But spend your time with the fast guys and ask them questions.

Never ever ride above your head! This is how you will seriously hurt yourself. I learned this Road Racing Sport Bikes!

Last but not least! Relax and enjoy the scenery. This is not a job it is a hobby!

Happy Trails,
Boomer
Old 01-11-2009, 07:23 AM

Default full throttle