Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum  

Go Back   Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum > GasGas Enduro Technical Forums > Enduro Engine - 2 stroke

Enduro Engine - 2 stroke Cylinder, Piston, Tranny, Bearings, Clutch, Pipes & Silencers, etc.

Old 06-03-2007, 07:40 AM

Default crankshaft repair or replace?

hi i am a newbie,so go easy on me if i don't know the correct words/names

6 days ago i bought a gasgas ec250,3 days later the lights packed up so i parked it up till this weekend to sort it out.

Anyway Saturday i took it a quick ride 2/3 miles to a mates and it stopped running......almost like running out of petrol,i knew it was worse though because the kick start was rock solid.

anyhow a mate picked me up and i proceeded to strip the engine,what i have found isn't pretty....where the stator/magneto(is that the name?)anyway the electric bits bolt to the end of the crankshaft......they have sheared off taking the end of the crank with it.

Anyhow i know of a very very good place for crankshaft repairs and i am going to try them when they open Monday.....but was just wondering.....do any of you have any idea how much a new one would be? as i really don't like the idea of a repair.

thanks in advance for any help you can give

cheers Dave

Old 06-03-2007, 03:51 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by davers View Post
anyhow a mate picked me up and i proceeded to strip the engine,what i have found isn't pretty....where the stator/magneto(is that the name?)anyway the electric bits bolt to the end of the crankshaft......they have sheared off taking the end of the crank with it.
Wow never heard of that happening before on any bike. Am I hearing this correctly - the end of the crank has sheared off? I wonder what the hell happened to cause that?
Old 06-03-2007, 06:10 PM

If thats the case repair is not an option.
Old 06-04-2007, 03:20 AM