Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum  

Go Back   Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum > General Forums > General Discussions & Announcements

General Discussions & Announcements General Announcements, General Questions, e.g. What bike do I buy?, etc.

Old 11-13-2007, 04:57 AM

Default EC 200 Suspension

I just bought an 2003 EC 200. I love this bike, it's perfect for the tight eastern woods here in Florida. We also have alot of sand and whoops in some of the trail systems around here. Does anybody have any recommendations on suspension set up. I used to ride a DRZ 400, so I like plush set ups. This EC 200 has front and rear Ohlins suspension, I've never worked with these shocks before. It's currently set out 15 clicks on front forks, the rear is soft it tends to hop side to side in the whoop sections. Any ideas ? My weight is around 190 lbs with gear on. Should I tighten the rear spring?

Thanks
GH

Old 11-13-2007, 07:40 AM

Set the rear sag first and then begin adjusting the clickers. (I can't take credit for the following primer, heck, I can't even remember where it came from)

Getting started, shock:
Setting the rebound:
1.) Find a relatively fast straight with braking bumps leading into the entrance of a corner. Reduce (Turn clicker out) the rebound damping until the rear end begins to hop or feel loose. Finally, increase (Turn clicker in) the rebound damping until the sensation goes away.
2.) Find a jump that tends to launch the motorcycle out. The rear end should absorb and then smoothly lift the motorcycle into the air. If the rear end bounces up, add rebound. (Turn clicker in)
3.) Find some large whoops. The motorcycle should track straight through the whoops with the rear wheel extending to the ground before the next impact. If it does not perform as described as above, it is packing and the rebound damping should be reduced! (Turn clicker out) (Please note the guide for sand set-up, as these rules don't apply for sand.)
Setting the compression: