Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum  

Go Back   Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum > General Forums > Injury & Recovery

Injury & Recovery Injuries, Health Issues, Vision & Body Repair

Old 07-19-2006, 06:07 PM
Gold Level Site Supporter

Default Goggles & Vision Correction

Mark's thread on lasik reminded me I needed some guidance in the vision area.

I am 46 years old and had to get my first pair of glasses about a year and a half ago. I am noticing the prescription needs to be adjusted now - actually I have a computer pair (focused at about half a meter) and a driving pair. I have stygmatism - used to be just bad at night, now need glasses almost all the time.

I have seen a couple of brands of inserts for goggles to correct vision - I am thinking I will need something soon. Any experiences with these or simply wearing glasses under the goggles? I have no experience in this area at all.

Thanks in advance.

Jeff

p.s. Everything else is working well, although my wife says that irritability is an issue as I age.

Old 07-19-2006, 08:39 PM
Super Moderator

Hey Jeff,

I haven't tried glasses under goggles but have seen it done several times. I think you would need a slim frame so that the ear pieces didn't press into your head. I also recently rode with another rider who had a prescription lense snap-fit into his googles (looked good)... no pun intended. This would be a more expensive route but there was no frame to interfere with comfort.

I wear contact lenses and have issues with my eyes drying out while riding. When my eyes dry, the contact loosens and my eyesight gets blurry... very irritating. So, I find myself either blinking a lot or close the dry eye occassionally to re-wetten them... not good when riding fast technical sections! Luckily, my eyesight is not too bad, so I sometimes leave my contacts out on rides.
Old 07-22-2006, 06:43 PM
Super Moderator

Hey Jeff,