Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum  

Go Back   Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum > General Forums > General Discussions & Announcements

General Discussions & Announcements General Announcements, General Questions, e.g. What bike do I buy?, etc.

Old 06-14-2007, 10:50 AM

Default My EC250 06 lacks torque.

Hello all,
At the begining of this year I bought a new 06 model EC250. I have been riding trials bikes for quite a few years but fancied a change. I am happy enough with the bike except for the lack of torque and throttle response. Mid range and top end seem fine but in really tight rocky going or on tricky climbs the poor bottom end makes things really difficult. The only way up a steep tricky climb is with lots of revs but it means that changing lines on the way up is very difficult. I recently tried an EC300 which had been previously tuned for Super Motard. It had a very stong top end as expected but also much more at the bottom end than mine. I am considering fitting an FMF Gnarly pipe. Does anybody know how these perform? Another possibility is to change to a 300 barrel and piston although I don't knoow the costs involved with this. Has anybody got any suggestions?
I have to change the front disc as I seem to have managed to crack it. Up to now (touch wood) I haven't had any big off's but it must have caught a rock in one of my stumbles. I plan to fit a Goldfren wavey disc. Any good?
I fitted a CRD bash plate from new but this has split at the back. I am a bit disappointed that it is made from aluminium and not duralumin as on the trials bikes which take years of serious abuse with no ill effects.
So far so good with the CRD rad. guards but they haven't been realy tested yet.
I also fitted neoprene fork gaiters which are supposed to lengthen the life of the seals but the left hand one has been cut by the disc when the forks compress fully.
Any top tips for this bike greatly appreciated.

John.
I

Old 06-14-2007, 11:26 AM