Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum  

Go Back   Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum > GasGas Enduro Technical Forums > Enduro Engine - 2 stroke

Enduro Engine - 2 stroke Cylinder, Piston, Tranny, Bearings, Clutch, Pipes & Silencers, etc.

Old 03-30-2009, 04:27 PM

Default Clutch adjustment?

Ok so... I am a total newb when it comes to working on bikes (trying to learn!) What I have here is a "new to me" 2003 EC-250 that I just brought home. Everything seems to work fine, but there is some sort of issue with the clutch. I can start the bike in neutral just fine, but as soon as I kick it into 1st gear it jerks and stalls. The only way I can start is to give it throttle and start rolling as soon as I put it in first. Also.. if I try to kickstart it with the lever all of the way in the bike tries to roll instead of starting (Do these bikes only start in neutral??) I dont mean to sound like a complete idiot here, but it is really puzzling me. I have adjusted the cable in every possible way according to the manaul (loosening the locknut.. tightening the adjuster) All I get is lever adjustment. The bike still stalls and jerks no matter how far out I set the lever or the adjuster. I am thinking the fact that it is a hydraulic clutch might have something to do with this? Do these types of clutches require fluid maintenance like a front brake?

Thanks in advance for the tips...

Joseph

Old 03-30-2009, 06:11 PM

Default clutch

hi heres my thouhts #1 check fluid level #2 clutch master does not have enough pressure to release clutch #3 clutch plates are burnt & warped #4push rod is worn # 5 clutch outer basket is grooved not letting clutch release #6 clutch basket nut is loose!! if it was my bike id ck fluid first if ok ! id ck complete clutch basket assembly for the above if youre not sure of what you found re post and some one will help im sure youll have other replys ! remember no one is as smart as all of us!!! good luck !
Old 03-30-2009, 06:34 PM