Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum  

Go Back   Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum > GasGas Enduro Technical Forums > Enduro Engine - 2 stroke

Enduro Engine - 2 stroke Cylinder, Piston, Tranny, Bearings, Clutch, Pipes & Silencers, etc.

Old 04-28-2015, 09:25 PM

Default Gt32 327cc rebuild question (splitting case)

I have a 1992 contact 32 that I'm rebuilding . I'm splitting the case to get the crankshaft out . Im new to these engines so I was wondering if anyone knows if there's a special way or side to take off first to keep the gears from falling or getting displaced. Im thinking about laying it on the mag side and lifting the other side off? I've split and rebuilt a bunch of cases but only a few motorcycle bottom ends . If anyone has advice ?

Old 04-29-2015, 07:28 AM

http://www.gasgas.com/tech.htm

Good info here....if you cant find the info you want try contacting Jim Snell direct.
Old 04-29-2015, 11:12 AM

Im not familiar with that engine.If you want to do quick and easy.Its tricky.Depends on the engine, but usually you would pull the counter shaft case half away from the clutch side.
You will still have to pull the outer clutch cover case and remove the crankshaft drive gear on that side to get the crank out and probaby find a few other things that have to be removed like a hidden case bolt or something else in there.

This would be a typical 2 stroke with counter shaft sprocket and mag-stator left side.Clutch right side.Scenario.

Last edited by gasgasxc; 04-29-2015 at 11:43 AM.
Old 04-29-2015, 09:27 PM

That's kinda what I figured . It's all ready to pull apart now , just haven't done it yet .
Thanks
Old 05-01-2015, 09:01 AM

Try to seperate the at this point "top case"from the bottom case leaving the crankshaft assembly in the bottom half.It will be easier to work the case away without the crankweight.
Then you can remove the crank from the other half.