Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum  

Go Back   Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum > GasGas Enduro Technical Forums > Enduro Engine 4 stroke (including EFI & Exhaust)

Enduro Engine 4 stroke (including EFI & Exhaust) 4 stroke engine, EFI, and exhaust discussion

Old 05-05-2009, 04:53 PM

Default 400-450 ECU Whats the Dif??

Awhile back I expressed my dissatisfaction with the EFI on my 04 450. It did not seem to have any upper end gusto. I had bought the bike used and I really didn't know what to expect performance wise except it was lighter than MY DRZ and it supposedly had 15 hp more. However, it didn't have the top end zip of my DRZ so I chalked it up to the fact that my DRZ had a much better exhaust sys and top end wise the GG was restricted.

So Today I replaced my ECU. My old one had a 400cc label on it but I didn't think much of it since it was the same part as the 450 ECU. My goodness, what a difference. I've been riding my GG for 8 months and I've been missing out on some serious upper end performance.

So my question is are the 450 ECUs programed that much differently than the 400 ECU or did I just have a bad ECU. It seemed to work well but just not as well as todays replacement. If it's just programming, can I send the old one out to have it reprogrammed?

Tony

Old 05-05-2009, 05:12 PM

Damn, well there goes my chance to "show you a wheel"
on my EC250SM... if we were ever to do a SuperMoto canyon
ride.

Enjoy your new found power and rejoice!

I guess this picture may be the only time I'll
get close enough for you to see my bike.

If you do ever make it down to So-Cal let me know
as I have a friend with an 05 FSE450SM and you
could see how your bike runs compared to his.
Cheers, Jeff
Old 05-05-2009, 07:19 PM

Oh, Jeff.