Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum  

Go Back   Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum > GasGas Enduro Technical Forums > Enduro Engine - 2 stroke

Enduro Engine - 2 stroke Cylinder, Piston, Tranny, Bearings, Clutch, Pipes & Silencers, etc.

Old 07-23-2012, 08:36 AM
skraMnoR

Default 2011 EC250 to 300???

I have a 2011 EC250. I am a novice rider and I ride many tight trails. I LOVE the way the bike handles but I feel I would like more low end chugability. I have ridden a KTM 300, Husaberg 300 (ktm) and the Husvarna 300 two strokes. I like the characteristics of those motors. I like predictability and smoother transition as the power comes on. I am a low RPM type rider and my 250 seems high strung.

What would be involved with upgrading my 250 to a 300? Is there a kit? Is it even worth it? Should I just sell the 250 and buy a Gas Gas 300?

Old 07-23-2012, 09:11 AM

Cylinder, head, piston kit, gaskets, jetting. Have you tried jetting the 250 differently? Gearing? Head mod adds bottom and is cheap too. Both of my 250s can crawl like a 300 just above idle if needed, even with light flywheels. I do it a lot when riding with my 10 yr old.
Old 07-23-2012, 09:49 AM
skraMnoR

I don't mess with carbs so I would have to take it to someone for jetting. Everyone says its real easy but I find that many people spend tons of time discussing and changing jetting and still not getting it right.

I am trying to avoid putting too much money into the 250 if in the end, I still have to sell and buy a 300. If the mods are inexpensive enough, I would consider.

Any particular head mods you can recommend?
Old 07-23-2012, 05:14 PM
Super Moderator

You need to learn to jet your bike mate. Even if you buy a 300 it will need to be jetted correctly to get the most out of it. As Glenn has indicated, the jetting can make the difference between your 250 feeling like a 300 and a 125.