Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum  

Go Back   Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum > General Forums > General Discussions & Announcements

General Discussions & Announcements General Announcements, General Questions, e.g. What bike do I buy?, etc.

Old 10-07-2015, 03:31 PM

Default Beast!

I am new to riding, well it's been 20 years since I rode a dirt bike.

You all have seen my threads on the 99 EC200 I got.

This is the issue, it's a beast! Well at least to me.

Riding this week in an 1.5 acre open area it scared the crap out of me several times. I was working on keeping the power under control and not lugging the bike. There was such a small area of lugging to WOW, I can't hardly keep the front wheel on the ground!

What are my options to tame this thing, I can't see myself riding this in the woods on tight trails with rocks and logs to deal with. I can't keep it under control in a field more less an area that has real dangers to hit. It's like it is just lugging or it's wild! Would be great for a track, but I'm not riding a track nor do I want to.

Old 10-07-2015, 04:41 PM

Try riding a gear higher maybe. Or you could try to tame the hit with jetting. Maybe try a different needle. A lot of folks like the NEDW needles.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Old 10-07-2015, 04:49 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by memphis2857 View Post
Try riding a gear higher maybe. Or you could try to tame the hit with jetting. Maybe try a different needle. A lot of folks like the NEDW needles.

I played with starting in 2nd to see how it handled. Has a little less punch, but luggs really bad.

NEDW needles, I'll look them up. As far a jetting goes, I have no clue where to even begin.

Will the ones I have, have numbers on them so I know what I got to begin with? When changing them, is up or down better?

I will look at post on here and try to get a feeling for it also.

Thanks
Old 10-07-2015, 04:52 PM