Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum  

Go Back   Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum > GasGas Enduro Technical Forums > Enduro Engine - 2 stroke

Enduro Engine - 2 stroke Cylinder, Piston, Tranny, Bearings, Clutch, Pipes & Silencers, etc.

Old 07-02-2012, 01:59 PM

Default Noise after top end

Well, changed to a new piston on my 300 09 but after an easy start for the first cycle a rattling noise appeared on idle together with the crispier sound of the new piston. When clutch engaged get's quieter... but still there.. mainly clutchside coming

Is it normal or maybe the pv got some how messed up and needs re alignment ? I'll shoot a vid tomorrow...

thanks in advance.. noob here

Old 07-02-2012, 06:04 PM

Rev the bike and put you foot up on the top of the pipe and push down. If it makes it go away or reduces it significantly, change your exhaust flange O-rings. They wear out very fast on these bikes.
Old 07-02-2012, 06:18 PM
Super Moderator

The PV assembly has some decent tolerances to allow it to work even after some carbon build up so if you cleaned down the pv assembly it may have some more play and clack a little at idle. The exhaust spigot can vibe. The clutch always makes a bit of a hollowish noise as well which is always worse when not engaged and quiets up when you pull the clutch.
Old 07-03-2012, 07:17 AM

Thanks for the replies guys but don't think its the exhaust. Checked the pv again and the governor on rest looks like this :

while the valve looks like this :

Here is also the video if it helps : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B2Vu3...ature=youtu.be

Haven't ridden it to be honest, just heat cycled it.... While reving the pv bracket doesn't move... is it supposed so?
Could have anything loosened clutchside, governor balls etc? Producing this sound or is it normal? What could have loosened by the removal of the cylinder?

Any help would be much appreciated....
Old 07-03-2012, 07:50 AM