Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum  

Go Back   Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum > GasGas Enduro Technical Forums > Enduro Intake/Carburetion - 2 stroke

Enduro Intake/Carburetion - 2 stroke Jetting, Reeds, Air Filters, etc.

Old 09-05-2015, 09:47 PM

Default Jetting and spark plug experts please help

Hi all, I'd appreciate some help with this. I Recently purchased a brand new 2014 xc300 and ran the motor in over a few hours mainly going from low to 3/4 revs with the occasional wot, then checked the plug and it appeared to be on the rich side (bit oily and darker sort of a tan). I put a fresh plug in yesterday and rode sand dunes giving it everything for an hour then checked the plug. See pic attached.

Im no expert but is it looking too lean? If so where should I start?

Thanks in advance for any advice.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20150906_142505.jpg (109.5 KB, 149 views)

Old 09-05-2015, 10:18 PM
Silver Level Site Supporter

Dangerously lean.Did it spew a lot of radiator fluid? Have a look at your radiator level. Probably needs 2 sizes bigger on your main jet but post up what jets & needle you currently have,elevation you ride at & temperature.Also what oil ratio are you running?
Old 09-06-2015, 12:07 AM

No radiator fluid lost - its still full. There was a burning smell when I was riding it though, I was thinking maybe it was just because it was new.

I ride at sea level, temperature is about 15 degrees Celsius at the moment

Not sure about jetting settings yet, it will be set at whatever it was set at from factory I guess, but I will open it up tomorrow and report back.

The strange thing is that the orginal plug looked almost too rich, what changed?

Also the silencer is leaking out a lot of unburnt oil - seems a weird thing to happen since the plug appears so lean?

Running 50:1

Im a total novice when it comes to this stuff so you're probably going to get asked a bunch of rooky questions as try to figure this jetting stuff out.