GasGas Riders Club Forum  

Go Back   GasGas Riders Club Forum > GasGas Enduro Technical Forums > Enduro Electrical & Wiring

Enduro Electrical & Wiring Lighting, Ignition, Wiring, Plugs, etc.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-01-2009, 11:26 AM
nick790's Avatar
nick790 nick790 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Kent, England.
Posts: 254
Default 08' trail tech speedo help please.

Hi all, need some help if you dont mind. When I got my 08' ec250 the trail tech unit was not wired in, I know I need a new speed sensor. But how many of the other plugs should be connected to something? I have a wire on the bike which I pressume is the power lead (has some sort of resistor built into it). Does the tacho normaly work? I assume the temp sensor is not used?

Any help would be good, some pic's would be perfect so I can compare wires.

Thanks alot.


Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 01-01-2009, 07:24 PM
eff's Avatar
eff eff is offline
Silver Level Site Supporter
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: RI
Posts: 1,757
Default

I'm not sure about the GasGas one but I have a TrailTech Vector.

The minimum is the sensor cable. The unit runs on a CR2032 battery. There are also plugs for the Remote, Temp Sensor and Power.

The power wire is a very small ga 2 conductor wire, 1 black, 1 red.
__________________
2004 GasGas DE250
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-02-2009, 04:19 AM
Krasi's Avatar
Krasi Krasi is offline
Silver Level Site Supporter
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Posts: 84
Default

My 09 came with the power and speed sensor already connected and they have tags on them.
Attached is a picture of the free cables/sockets. The smaller one has a TACH tag on it. The other one is for the optional engine temperature sensor I guess. Here is what the factory answered about them:

"Regarding to your request, we can inform you that the multufunction set assembled on the bike , is prepared to connect the "tachometer" and also, the "temperature sensor", but on mass production, we only use the "power" and "speed sensor"."

So I connected the tacho myself. Just took a "signal" from the ignition coil (see the other attachment) and connected it to the red TACH wire. The black TACH wire is zero/ground so you can connect it anywhere on the frame for example.

Check out Trailtech manuals too - http://www.trailtech.net/instructions.html
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Free_Connectors.pdf (96.8 KB, 67 views)
File Type: pdf Ignition_coil.pdf (186.0 KB, 70 views)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-02-2009, 05:00 AM
nick790's Avatar
nick790 nick790 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Kent, England.
Posts: 254
Default

Thanks that heps alot, with regard to the tacho connection, did you haveto buy a cable?

I think the big plug allow it to connect up to indicators and head lights so the warning lights on the das function? not that anyone would need it.

How good does the tacho work? has anyone connected the temp sensor?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-02-2009, 11:56 AM
Krasi's Avatar
Krasi Krasi is offline
Silver Level Site Supporter
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Posts: 84
Default

No, I didn't buy a cable. Trailtech sells cables with the appropriate connectors, but the expense was unjustifiable for me. I took a normal multi-thread cable, broke the plastic connector on the computer cable, twisted the two and "sealed the connection" with insulating band.

The big connector must be for the temp sensor. Warning lights operate depending on the revs. I have left mine at standard settings - 6k and 10k rpms.
Btw. my idle seems to be at about 2k rpms.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-06-2015, 12:51 PM
Mikeyx Mikeyx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Finland
Posts: 90
Default

Thanks for the info. Got my rpm gauge working, broke the connector and soldered wires. The ground wire I connected under the dash retaining bolt. The red wire I wound around the spark plug wire a few revolutions and fastened with a cable tie.

My idle speed was 2600 rpm. The ppr setting (pulse per revolution???) was 0.5 so I had to change it to 1 to get the right value.
Reply With Quote
Reply



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trail Tech - Voyager HydroDog General Discussions & Announcements 13 11-08-2010 02:29 PM
Trail tech troubles skid jackson General Discussions & Announcements 8 06-02-2010 08:15 PM
Trail Tech X bars sammyj18 Enduro Chassis & Body 11 05-06-2010 10:39 AM
Trail Tech Speedo on EC200 or 2T warnzie Enduro Electrical & Wiring 6 02-07-2008 08:37 PM
Trail Tech Vapor DAVe3283 Enduro Product Reviews 6 03-07-2007 07:33 PM




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2009 - GasGasRider.org