Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum  

Go Back   Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum > General Forums > General Discussions & Announcements

General Discussions & Announcements General Announcements, General Questions, e.g. What bike do I buy?, etc.

Old 04-28-2010, 05:43 PM

Default 250 or 300 Help me decide

So I'm ready to get a 2010 GG. I've been riding GasGas since 1998 (owned a 98250 EC and a 03 DE) and would never think of another 2T brand. Both of the ones I have owned have been great bikes and both were 250's. Prior to thr GG, back in the 90's I rode KTM 300's, loved them but they also tended to be a little finicky to jetting, but the power was great for the Michigan sand.

Since I went GG, It'salways bee a 250 and I have never ridden the 300 Gasser. I ride in the Southeast (clay, mud rocks, minimal sand like back home in Michigan where I grew up racing), I still run some harescarmbles and an occassional Enduro, Senior A class rider. Love the tight stuff and how the 250 works, but everyone I have talked to just loves the 300.

Any thoughts....Help me.

Old 04-28-2010, 05:51 PM

I have ridden all of them including the 450. The 250 is by far my favorite. That being said I love my 125 too! It just suits the crap we have to ride here. Nice and light. It really come down to personal preference though. Their all good bikes. Witch just makes it harder to decide.
Old 04-28-2010, 06:05 PM

It's a tough call. My personal preference is the 250, mostly because I race. The 300 is really fun, but after 3 hours it's a handful. Granted, I'm only 165-170lbs.
Old 04-28-2010, 06:52 PM
Gold Level Site Supporter

I'd get the one the dealer has in stock.
If he has both, flip a coin! Really you can't go wrong. I find the 250 is slightly less tiring to ride over a long day.