Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum  

Go Back   Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum > Community Forums > Central United States

Central United States Between the Rocky Mountains and Mississippi River

Old 11-06-2012, 09:34 AM

Default New Gas Gas Owner - Oklahoma City, OK

Hello all. I am new to the fold here. I've been lurking around this forum looking for a Gas Gas and happened on a great deal on a 2013 300 from Greg Guy in Meridian, MS. The bike arrived well setup and ready to rip. For reference, I've only owned four strokes (my last bike being a 2010 Husqvarna TXC 250), but decided that I wanted to try a smoker. I narrowed it down to a Gas Gas, KTM or Husaberg 2 stroke and went round and round about 200-250-300. I, of course, received tons of opinions, most of which pointed me at the orange bike. We have at least 3 Gas Gas owners in our racing club, though, and their opinions stood out the most because it was apparent how much they LOVED their bikes. I ended up getting test rides on 2 2011 300s and 1 2011 200. I had my finger on the trigger for a leftover 2011 250 e start until I ran into Greg's 300 on this site. Sold! I posted this little initial impression report on our local racing site, and thought i'd copy it here (I have a few other updates too that i'll post as well):

We started on Friday night by setting the sag. We had tried once before, but didn't have the proper tools to get the job done at the track. Here is a gripe...the preload adjustor on this Ohlins shock is made of plastic. :/ I made a quick jog around the garage and saw that both of our Huskies and the KTM have aluminum adjusters. Needless, to say, the ring looks like crap now, but the sag is set at 107.5, which actually let the bike sink a little under my weight. All clickers were still in the middle. We also slid the forks up to the second line and robbed the 110/100 rear tire off the KTM. The height is now a non-issue as it is about the same as my TXC 250.