Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum  

Go Back   Rieju & GasGas Legacy Riders Club Forum > GasGas Enduro Technical Forums > Enduro Electrical & Wiring

Enduro Electrical & Wiring Lighting, Ignition, Wiring, Plugs, etc.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-10-2007, 11:22 PM
mackmack mackmack is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 60
Default HOw do i go DC on my ec300

Trying to get MY AC system over to DC for HID lights.

How do i do it??? I called and email trailtech and they said they were unfimilar with GG stators .. I told them it was a 2K3 similar (MABYE the same?) as a ktm .. They seemed not to think so.

SO who has done the DC mod on a gasgas??? and how??


Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 12-10-2007, 11:43 PM
kim kim is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sunny Hawkes Bay, New Zealand
Posts: 189
Default

How much power is the HID ?
What voltage is the HID ?

I'll have a look at the wiring diagram when I get home. Should be pretty simple.

K
__________________
08 TXT 300
06 Gasgas EC200
03 Gasgas EC300
05 Pampera 250
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-11-2007, 08:09 AM
GMP's Avatar
GMP GMP is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Jefferson Twp., NJ
Posts: 7,601
Default

I think they are the same with the exception of the stator plate and timing. Basically you need to float the AC ground on the stator, and use both windings across the rectifier/regulator. Look at the trailtech instructions vs. your stator, should be obvious.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-11-2007, 03:01 PM
slocalspode's Avatar
slocalspode slocalspode is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Southern Kalifornia
Posts: 452
Default

I am right in the middle of this very modification. Converting a 2K3 Stator
I purchaced from a forum member. I looks exactly like the KTM 2K3 stator
shown on their web site with the exception of the backing plate. The
GasGas is round where as the KTM plate is trimmed.
Here is one KTM stator that TrailTech sells:
http://www.trailtech.net/S-8301-05.html
************************************************** **
This is the link you need:
Here are the instructions on how to modify your stock stator:
http://trailtech.net/media/electrica...conversion.pdf
************************************************** ***

This an explination of the concept of AC to DC conversion:
http://trailtech.net/media/electrica...y_concepts.pdf

If you buy TrailTech's DC kit:
http://www.trailtech.net/S-8301.html
Insallation instructions:
http://www.trailtech.net/media/instr...stallation.pdf

Tech Support FAQ:
http://www.trailtech.net/tech_support_stators.html

Power provided by stock stator:
http://www.trailtech.net/tech_support_ktm_stators.html
---------------------------------------------------------
This from Baja Designs:
http://www.bajadesigns.com/2005%20We...statormods.htm
For KTM modifications:
http://www.bajadesigns.com/2005%20We...ator%20Mod.pdf
----------------------------------------------------------
Hope this helps.
Jeff
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-11-2007, 08:32 PM
mackmack mackmack is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 60
Default

SO i wonder if i could buy the trailtech KTM dc stator they sell and put it in my gasgas???
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-12-2007, 12:14 PM
slocalspode's Avatar
slocalspode slocalspode is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Southern Kalifornia
Posts: 452
Default

My guess would be yes. If the trailtech comes with a backing plate.
Just swap out yours. If not. Add your plate and install.
Then get a battery and build a box or go the capaciter route.
Here is the box I built out of some scrap Carbon Fiber from my work.
---
here is the Yuasa 1.2 Ah battery I bought.
http://www.batterywholesale.com/batt...tml?prodID=155
TrailTech and McMaster-Carr also sell similar batteries.
-------
I would assume there are some real smart people on this forum that
have gone through this learing curve before and are just sitting back
watching us......
Good luck and let us know how your project comes out. I will post a
report and some finished pictures when I complete mine.
Cheers, Jeff So. Cal.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg GG300wiring 002.jpg (43.9 KB, 183 views)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-13-2007, 06:57 AM
Leon_gasgas Leon_gasgas is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 175
Default

Hi!

Here are some instructions on how to convert to DC and use HID lights.

Bike was an EC300 04. I will do it later to my ec250 07 when I have the money for a good HID headlight.

In the middle of the stator, between the coils, there is a grounded cable. You disconnect it. On the upper part of the stator there is a white and a yelow cable connected. You disconnect the one on the right side (the guy who did it remembered that it was the yelow one) and you connect it with the cable you disconnected from the middle.

You remove the oem ac regulator. You remove the seat and behind the tank on the right of the subframe you will find a white cable not connected anywhere. At least I found it there on my 07. You take this white cable and the yelow cable that was connected to the oem ac regulator and you connect them to the yelow and green cables of the dc regulator (the sequence doesn't mater because the voltage is ac from the stator) of the link I attach. You screw well this dc regulator to the frame to be well grounded and you connect its red cable to the positive of an 1,3 Ah battery. The negative of the battery to the ground (frame). The positive to the HID module via a switch and a fuse. Then light up the night! You don't need extra stator modifications.

http://www.duell.fi/popup_image.php?pID=61326 (allow pop-up for this link)

Now my question. As I understood this extra white ac cable behind the tank is not 12v regulated. If I want to use it for some extra halogen lamp I think I need an AC regulator. Correct? I have found some basic AC regulator with a black and a yelow cable and a hole in the middle to attach it to the frame for ground. Do I just connect the white cable to the yelow (or the black) cable of the regulator and then the other cable of the regulator to the light via a switch and a fuse?

Thank you!

Leon
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-13-2007, 08:06 AM
GMP's Avatar
GMP GMP is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Jefferson Twp., NJ
Posts: 7,601
Default

It would be best to have photos to document a successfull conversion. You would not want to disconnect the ground for the CDI power winding. I have a 2K-3 in a box at home. If I have time I'll snap a few photos. I have no need/desire to do this mod myself though.

The white and yellow wires from the stator are two separate AC windings with a common ground. The stock bike just uses one (yellow), the other(white) is disconnected. If you float the ground in the stator for DC you cannot connect it back to the DC ground. I have not done this mod but what I think is done is that the ground referance is removed from the stator plate. Each winding is referanced together, and the yellow and white wires are now connected to the AC input of the Trailtech rectifier regulator. Again, I have not done this but it seems simple if you have any experience with power supplies. If you wanted AC as well as DC, you could tap off the AC output of the stator, but the load must float with respect to the frame or DC ground. Total power must also be taken into consideration.

This is exactly what I'm talking about: http://trailtech.net/media/electrica...conversion.pdf


I have used the AC regulator you mention. Its a simple zener diode clipping device. The black wire is ground, yellow is hot (AC) the just gets connected to the AC from the stator. The alloy case has a hole for mounting, but do not depend on it for a good ground. I used it on my '00 after the stocker went up in smoke and mounted it on the upper triple clamp.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-14-2007, 02:14 AM
Leon_gasgas Leon_gasgas is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 175
Default

Hi!

What you describe Glen is what I described. The guy who did it just didn't remember 100% if the right cable on the stator windings he disconnected was white or yelow. He remembers yelow. Unfortunatelly he didn't take pictures but his method works for many other HID applications on gas-gases in Finland. One other guy following his method he didn't find the extra free white wire behind the tank but still the power only from the yelow wire connected to the dc regulator was enough for a HID headlight. I believe him because I have been using for long time the headlight wires (powered only from the yelow wire) to power simultaneously two OSRAM IRC spots of 70W total (equal to 100W of normal spots) and they work great.

Still I am confused about the ac regulator. If the black wire is for ground and the yelow is connected to the free white wire of the bike then there isn't any wire to give power to the extra lamp i want to use. How should I do it?

Thank you,

Leon
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-14-2007, 06:02 AM
bergerhag's Avatar
bergerhag bergerhag is offline
Gold Level Site Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Timr?, Sweden
Posts: 675
Default

[edit] GMP just said what I wrote, no need for me to repeat him...

Code:
Ac feed _________________
             ___|__      |
             | reg|      |
             |____|      O  lamp
                |        |
gnd    -------------------
So, in your case, connect the black wire to Chassis, then connect the yellow wire AND the load(lamp) to the free white wire.

Last edited by bergerhag; 12-14-2007 at 06:13 AM. Reason: somewhat unclear..
Reply With Quote
Reply



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2005 EC300 vs 2007 EC300 alecsstefan Enduro Engine - 2 stroke 19 01-22-2010 01:40 AM




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2009 - GasGasRider.org