GasGas Riders Club Forum  

Go Back   GasGas Riders Club Forum > GasGas Enduro Technical Forums > Enduro Engine 4 stroke (including EFI & Exhaust)

Enduro Engine 4 stroke (including EFI & Exhaust) 4 stroke engine, EFI, and exhaust discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-30-2008, 10:04 PM
sanderjavant's Avatar
sanderjavant sanderjavant is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Castroville, Texas
Posts: 78
Default Disconnected wires

I found these disconnected wires under the fuel tank. I couldn't find where to plug them in.

What do they control?

And where should they plug in?

The bike runs fine except for terrible fuel mileage. 36 miles before the low fuel light came on.










Last edited by sanderjavant; 04-01-2008 at 09:51 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 03-30-2008, 10:54 PM
JRDoz JRDoz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sydney,Australia
Posts: 209
Default

Plug the black one back into the similar harness (It's the ECU earth)
Leave the other one disconnected. It puts a different fuel map for racing on it (Disconnected for racing). If you do connect them both , you should get your Fuel injection triming reset..
__________________

"It's Nature that Brings out the Madness"
GasGas FSR450 07'
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-31-2008, 01:18 AM
bergerhag's Avatar
bergerhag bergerhag is offline
Gold Level Site Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Timr?, Sweden
Posts: 675
Default

The matching cables are fitted on the ecu housing, on the tank underside.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-31-2008, 09:10 AM
Nick's Avatar
Nick Nick is offline
Gold Level Site Supporter
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nevada
Posts: 560
Default

There are 2 maps in the ECU. Unplugging the blue/yellow wire takes it to a richer setting. Depending on your riding you might like it plugged in and better mileage comes with that lean setting. Its something you have to try yourself.
__________________
Dont follow me, You wont make it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-31-2008, 08:55 PM
sanderjavant's Avatar
sanderjavant sanderjavant is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Castroville, Texas
Posts: 78
Default

Thanks for the replys.

I looked again for the connections for both but couldn't find either. They must be buried under the tank. In fact I couldn't find any other loose wires.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-01-2008, 01:22 AM
bergerhag's Avatar
bergerhag bergerhag is offline
Gold Level Site Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Timr?, Sweden
Posts: 675
Default

Actually you could just connect your two cables in the picture to get the leaner map, the black is a ground connected wire, and the blue/yellow is the 'MAP1/2" input of the ECU. By doing so you are still missing a grounding of the ecu housing. I don't know how important that case grounding is, but I guess it has been installed there for a reason.

Remove your seat and radiator shrouds, lift up the tank slightly at the rear end. you should be able to se them. If there are no cables attached to the corner of the housing, just add one for the ground yourself.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-01-2008, 10:04 PM
sanderjavant's Avatar
sanderjavant sanderjavant is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Castroville, Texas
Posts: 78
Default

I think I get it.

I lifted up the tank and looked around but nothing to connect the wires to.

According to the schematics the wires may have originally connected straight into the ECU. The tape around the wires going into the ECU may have been cut back, it's hard to tell since I bought the bike used. So the original owner may have pulled the wires out of the ECU and added the connectors to make the fuel map adjustment quick and easy.

I may just connect the two together but then I'm worried about the black wire not being grounded.

Tomorrow night I'll check to see if the #16 hole is empty on the ECU which I'm guessing it is.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-01-2008, 10:13 PM
Nick's Avatar
Nick Nick is offline
Gold Level Site Supporter
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nevada
Posts: 560
Default

It came from the factory with the connectors in your picture.
__________________
Dont follow me, You wont make it.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-14-2022, 05:19 AM
Lipilape Lipilape is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Posts: 7
Default

[QUOTE=Nick;15349]There are 2 maps in the ECU. Unplugging the blue/yellow wire takes it to a richer setting. Depending on your riding you might like it plugged in and better mileage comes with that lean setting. Its something you have Hello, I would like to know in which map you have to reset the tps in the racing or emissions
Reply With Quote
Reply



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2006 EC300 - Removing Wires nsgasser Enduro Electrical & Wiring 2 04-21-2010 04:32 PM
2 unplugged wires ec 250 dareuk Enduro Electrical & Wiring 1 03-22-2010 03:59 AM
Dual Map wires nhrider Enduro Electrical & Wiring 2 10-26-2009 05:33 PM
FSE 450 - Fuel remapping? Unplugging Wires? Whats this about? adpartain Enduro Electrical & Wiring 3 08-05-2008 08:24 PM
speedo wires ? cookeye Enduro Electrical & Wiring 0 04-29-2008 04:03 AM




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2009 - GasGasRider.org